1 week

Not much more than 1 week after posting the last goal, and I’m changing it. There’s that procrastinating waffler I know!

New Goal #84: Finish a research class.

As I may have mentioned once or twice before, I think formal research papers are the most evil homeworkian invention on the planet. They’re boring to read and even more boring to write. I simply can’t do this one in time to pass the class it’s being written for, so I’m having to drop this class and take another one. Over the summer. After the day I was supposed to graduate-no diploma until fall. Not fun-and that’s before you count the whole needing help thing.

Once the crying was over (and it’d better be over), I decided maybe this was good. I could definitely use some time right now to catch up on other classes-particularly TEFL. I was all set for some local ESL tutoring and really wanted a job this semester in a nursing home, to try out the nutrition field. And since I won’t get a diploma in time to go to South Korea in the fall, I can stick around with my family a bit longer. Watch the situation with North Korea. A friend in the military was of the opinion yesterday that the U.S. and the U.N. might start leaning on the DPRK soon. From what I’m reading in the news and books, it’s hard to think ill of that idea. I am not at all happy with the possibility of another war (particularly one where I might be drafted at the drop of a bill in Congress), but I’m also really not happy that there’s a government in the world today with a track record like this and this and this and this-not to mention the bomb testing that’s probably got everyone official on edge. When a country’s information exchange with the outside world is more tightly controlled than in one-child-policy China, you have to wonder if the stories that do get out are uncommon or just a tiny fraction of a gigantic human rights abuse situation. I’ve never been anywhere near North Korea and haven’t even paid much attention to it before now, so there’s no way I’m getting the whole picture. But what I see is pretty unpleasant. BTW, North Korea was my prayer country last month (see Goal #19).

Oooh, there was a tangent. I really do want to go teach English in South Korea, so I hope with all my selfish heart that the U.S. doesn’t end up at war in the far east in the next few years. But that is the main issue my extended family has brought up in trying to dissuade me from going. Thus and so.

This will hopefully be completed by the end of the summer. A lab at school opened up and sounds very interesting, one in which I won’t have to become the foremost expert on bean-meat patties in the U.S.

Progress: I’ve researched and applied-hopefully hearing back soon. I’m in! and I don’t have to write a single paper 🙂 Done!!!

One thought on “1 week

  1. Pingback: 19. Pray for a different country every month. | starcrownedcliffs

Leave a Reply

